GLOBAL OPEN FARMS

From LABIOMISTA, Vanmechelen is building a network of Open Farms across the world. For him, art extends beyond the object: from animals deep into communities.

Open Farms are sanctuaries for creation and reinvention. Real-life crossroads, where art, science and industry meet - at unconventional, inspiring and unique locations. All are situated at the intersection of man, culture and nature: present, past and future. Lovingly embedded in the very communities that are essential to the flourishing of each project.

The Global Open Farms are being coordinated by Inge Kindt, Koen Vanmechelen's wife.

Next to LABIOMISTA, there are Global Open Farms in Harare (Zimbabwe), Detroit (US) and Addis Abeba (Ethiopia).

As an artist, I build nests in different places, for different people and for various occasions. After all, confluences of people and ideas, of perspectives and opinions, are the fuel that turns art into a chain reaction

Koen Vanmechelen

The care for the animals in LABIOMISTA and the other Open Farms is undertaken in collaboration with locally embedded groups of carers.

In African countries such as Ethiopia, Zimbabwe and Tanzania, the focus is on educating and empowering women. In Europe and the United States, we work with young people, socio-economic disadvantaged groups and people who fall outside the traditional framework for training and employment.

Global Open Farm, the Prototype, at home with Koen and Inge in Oudsbergen

In 1999, Vanmechelen’s Cosmopolitan Chicken Project started with just a few dozen chickens that were bred, multiplied and crossed. Today, it’s a Global Open Farm that extends over several hectares of fields around the artist's home. In 2019, the house offers views of eagles, chickens, and if you are lucky also alpacas, rheas and ostriches parading past the back of the building. Take a few big strides down the garden, and you’ll meet the camels, pigs and Tibetan cows. The llamas, dromedaries and a mom and dad pair of emus are just a little further away.

The sheer variety of birds and mammals that have over time become part of Vanmechelen's universe, with all its artistic, philosophical and socio-ecological commitments, requires a far-reaching diversification in daily care. The gathering point for all that knowledge and experience about animal care is Inge, guardian and manager of this Global Open Farm prototype. In a natural way, she supplements that expertise with generous helpings of warmth, love, care and a profound sense of animal and human intelligence.The animal care in Oudsbergen is done in cooperating with schools for the disabled, and also offers opportunities to young people in time-out projects.

Meeuwen_Dieren_KerkhofsAlice

Global Open Farm, The Future of Hope, Harare (Zimbabwe)

Together with The Future of Hope Foundation, founded and led by social entrepreneur Chido Govera, Vanmechelen is building a network that will give as many Africans as possible with an income and provide them with locally-sourced food. The parent farm in Harare is a training centre where orphans are taught how to grow oyster mushrooms and other edible mushroom species and at the same time learn essential life skills, such as social behaviour, dealing with sexuality, AIDS and hygiene.

Global Open Farm, INCUBATED WORLDS, Addis Ababa (Ethiopia)

The installation INCUBATED WORLDS is the result of a collaboration between three partners: the ‘African Chicken Genetics Gains’ project of the International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI), Koen Vanmechelen and the MOUTH foundation. Additionnally, a chicken breed selected by ACGG is crossed with various CCP chickens from Vanmechelen's Cosmopolitan Chicken Project. The aim is to create a sustainable, productive chicken breed (a Planetary Community Chicken, in the PCC project) that will thrive in Sub-Saharan Africa. The installation was opened on April 26, 2018 at the ILRI (Addis Ababa campus, Ethiopia) as an artistic-scientific project that aims to improve both the food security and the income of people in East Africa with chicken breeds that are disease- and climate-resistant. Read more.

 

Open Global Farm, Detroit (US)

In 2016, the American art programme Wasserman Projects organised an exhibition with work by Koen Vanmechelen. It involved crossing the Malines Wyandotte, a cockerel from the genetically diverse Cosmopolitan Chicken Project, with a local hen from a commercial breed. The aim was to improve the food supply and to improve the economy of the local community. The Planetary Community Chickens (PCC) that emerged from this are now strutting around on the Oakland Avenue Community Farm. This is an urban farm in a city where the demise of the car industry has led to a dramatic downturn in the socio-economic situation of a multiracial, highly vulnerable population. In so doing, art and urban development build an alliance for the creation of a self-sustaining ecosystem, supported by educational and training initiatives and the promotion of ecotourism.

GLOBAL OPEN FARMS

À partir de LABIOMISTA, Vanmechelen tisse un réseau de Open Farms dans le reste du monde. L’art va pour lui bien au-delà de l’objet : des animaux jusqu’au plus profond des communautés.

Les Open Farms sont des sanctuaires de la création et de la régénération. Des lieux singuliers et uniques de rencontres physiques entre l’art, la science et l’industrie. Toutes situées au point de convergence de l’homme, de la culture et de la nature, du passé, du présent et du futur. Solidement ancrées dans les communautés qui donnent naissance aux divers projets. 

La coordination des Global Open Farms est assurée par l’épouse de Koen Vanmechelen Inge Kindt.

Outre LABIOMISTA, il y a des Global Open Farms à Harare, au Zimbabwe, à Detroit et à Addis- Abeba.

Je construis des nids un peu partout, pour diverses personnes et dans les circonstances les diverses. La confluence d’hommes et d’idées, de perspectives et d’opinion constitue en effet le carburant de l’art.

Koen Vanmechelen

Les soins aux animaux de LABIOMISTA et des autres Open Farms sont organisés en collaboration avec des groupes défavorisés locaux.

Dans des pays africains comme l’Éthiopie, le Zimbabwe et la Tanzanie, l’accent est mis sur la formation et l’autonomisation des femmes. En Europe et aux États-Unis, on y travaille avec des jeunes, des groupes socio-économiques à risques et des laissés-pour-compte de la formation et de l’emploi.

Global Open Farm, le Prototype, chez Koen et Inge à Oudsbergen

Le Cosmopolitan Chicken Project de Koen Vanmechelen, qui a commencé en 1999 par l’élevage de quelques douzaines de poules pondeuses qui ont été croisées avec d’autres espèces, est aujourd’hui une Global Open Farm qui s’étend sur des dizaines d’hectares autour de la maison du plasticien. On a aujourd’hui vue de la maison sur des aigles, des poules et, avec un petit peu de chance, des alpacas, des nandous et des autruches. Plus loin dans le jardin, vous trouverez des chameaux, des cochons et des vaches du Tibet. Les lamas, les dromadaires et le couple d’émeus sont parqués un peu plus.

Toute cette variété d’oiseaux et de mammifères qui vont progressivement faire partie intégrante de l’univers artistique, philosophique et socio-écologique de Vanmechelen exige des compétences diverses de la part des soignants. Tout ce savoir-faire, toute cette expérience en soins vétérinaires est aujourd’hui concentrée en la personne d’Inge, gardienne et ‘patronne’ de ce prototype de Global Open Farm. Elle y ajoute avec le plus grand naturel toute sa chaleur humaine, son amour et sa sensibilité innée pour les animaux et les hommes. permettre de se dépasser. Un stage officiel dans la ferme de Koen Vanmechelen dure deux ans. Elle s’est associée à des écoles pour jeunes handicapés d’Oudesbergen et accueille aussi des jeunes en difficulté.

Meeuwen_Dieren_KerkhofsAlice

Global Open Farm, The Future of Hope, Harare (Zimbabwe)

Vanmechelen tisse avec The Future of Hope Foundation, créée et dirigée par la militante sociale Chido Govera, un réseau qui procure des revenus à autant d’Africains que possible et les nourrit avec des produits locaux. La maison-mère à Harare est un centre de formation où des orphelins apprennent à cultiver des pleurotes et autres champignons comestibles et acquièrent en même temps d’autres ‘talents de vie’ comme la sociabilité, la bonne attitude face à la sexualité, le sida et l’hygiène.

Global Open Farm, INCUBATED WORDLS, Addis-Abeba (Éthiopie)

L’installation INCUBATED WORLDS est le fruit d’une collaboration entre trois partenaires : le projet ‘African Chicken Genetics Gains’ du International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI), Koen Vanmechelen et la fondation MOUTH. Des poules d’une espèce sélectionnée par l’ACGG sont croisées avec des coq CCP du Cosmopolitan Chicken Project de Vanmechelen dans le but d’obtenir une race durable et productive (un Planetary Community Chicken) qui résiste bien au climat sub-saharien. L’installation a été ouverte le 26 avril 2018 au ILRI (campus d’Addis-Abeba, Éthiopie), un projet artistico-scientifique qui a pour objectif final d’améliorer les sources d’alimentation et de revenus à de la population est-africaine. Plus. 

 

Open Global Farm, Detroit (US)

Le programme artistique américain Wasserman Projects avait monté en 2016 une exposition de l’œuvre de Koen Vanmechelen et à cette occasion, le coq malinois Wyandotte du Cosmopolitan Chicken Project avait été croisé avec une poule commerciale locale. L’idée était d’améliorer l’alimentation et la situation économique de la population locale. Les Planetary Community Chickens (PCC) qui naquirent de cette union vivent maintenant à la Oakland Avenue Community Farm. C’est une ferme au cœur d’une ville qui a subi de plein fouet le déclin de l’industrie automobile, avec à la clé une situation socio-économique catastrophique pour une population multiraciale très fragilisée. L’art et l’urbanisme font ainsi cause commune en créant un écosystème autosuffisant soutenu par des initiatives de formation et la promotion de l’écotourisme.