Human Rights Pavilion

wereldtournee
08 May 2019 - 08 May 2021

During the 58th Venice Biennale, Belgian artist Koen Vanmechelen heralded the birth of the Human Rights Pavilion, an evolving artwork that will take shape over the course of two years, as it travels the world, visiting almost every continent on earth. In 2021, Vanmechelen will present his completed OPUS at the next Venice Biennale, as an appeal to the world, and possibly as the start of a recurring international human rights pavilion.

WORLDWIDE CAMPUS

Vanmechelen launched the Human Rights Pavilion in collaboration with international partners: the Global Campus of Human Rights, the biggest academic network for human rights; Fondazione Berengo, a Venetian institution; and the MOUTH Foundation, an organization bringing together art, science and society on the theme of diversity. The ambitious project kicks off soon, at the 58th Venice Biennale.

Over the next two years, the Pavilion will gain momentum via the dialogues, travels, correspondences, explorations and creations that Vanmechelen will set up with various local partners worldwide. Roaming the planet, the pavilion-to-be will take shape through contact with persons and organisations involved with or interested in human rights, from the Mapuche tribe in Chile to the United Nations in New York. The starting point is Vanmechelen's conviction that the global level can only exist thanks to the generosity of the local one.

COSMOCAFE
At various locations, unexpected encounters and conversations will be encouraged via so-called SoTO (Survival of The Other) dialogues, in pop-up Cosmocafes. These local meeting hubs will become hotbeds for new ideas. Central to these dialogues is the content and potential of creating a universal corpus of human rights, to which all people - and by extension our planet’s entire natural environment – are inherently entitled. A global system that, like biodiversity, is seriously threatened today.

Manfred Nowak, Secretary General of the Global Campus of Human Rights: “Bringing people together in Cosmocafes at various locations around the world gives rise to a new movement. Meetings and dialogue entail the possibility of creating something new. For Koen Vanmechelen, art is not just a product, but also a process that spreads a message as it develops. Art as a virus.” Wherever in the world, Cosmocafes will always bring together a mix of local and global players; people from different disciplines. Koen Vanmechelen: “By my years of work on children's and nature rights, I have learned that connecting people is of vital importance. The foundation of the philosophy that unites my work is the adage: ‘Every organism needs another organism to survive’.”

A PAVILION FOR HUMAN RIGHTS

The project will be initiated during the GLASSTRESS exhibition in Venice and then go on a world tour. Cosmocafes and SoTO dialogues are planned in Mexico, Chile and Finland, at the UN assembly in Geneva and at LABIOMISTA, the artist’s home base. “Various partners are invited to contribute, both to the artistic research and to the development of the artwork. The aim is to include as many disciplines, perspectives and cultures as possible in the creative process," says the artist.

At the end of 2020, all input will be reassembled into a unifying OPUS. This work will be submitted to the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, the European Commission and the president and curator of the 59th Venice Biennale. Accompanying it will be a call for the creation of a recurring supranational human rights pavilion as part of the Venice Biennale.

More information via:

www.humanrightspavilion.com

Human Rights Pavilion

wereldtournee
08 mai 2019 - 08 mai 2021

L’artiste belge Koen Vanmechelen célèbre pendant la 58e Biennale de Venise la naissance de son œuvre d’art Human Rights Pavilion, une œuvre en devenir qui fera pendant deux ans une tournée internationale sur presque tous les continents. Vanmechelen présentera en 2021 son OPUS achevé à la Biennale de Venise en appel et si possible comme fondement d’un pavillon international des Droits de l’Homme.

UN CAMPUS PLAN
Vanmechelen lance son pavillon des Droits de l’Homme avec des partenaires internationaux du Global Campus of Human Rights, le plus grand réseau académique autour des Droits de l’Homme, la Fondation Berengo de Venise et la fondation MOUTH, qui mobilise artistes, scientifiques et citoyens autour de la diversité. Son ambitieux projet est lancé à l’occasion de la 58e Biennale de Venise.
L’œuvre va prendre de l’ampleur pendant les années suivantes avec les dialogues, les voyages, les échanges épistolaires, les explorations et les créations que Vanmechelen réalise avec divers partenaires locaux dans le monde entier. Flottant au-dessus de la planète, le pavillon en devenir va prendre forme grâce à des contacts avec des personnes et des institutions qui œuvrent ou protègent les Droits de l’Homme, de Mapuche au Chili aux Nations Unis à New York. Ce projet repose sur la conviction de Vanmechelen que le global ne peut exister que grâce à la générosité du local.

COSMOCAFÉ
Des rencontres et conversations impromptues sont provoquées un peu partout via les dialogues dits SoTO (Survival of The Other) dans des Cosmocafés éphémères. Ces lieux de rencontre locaux ont vocation à devenir des incubateurs d’idées nouvelles, à donner forme et potentiel à un corpus international des Droits de l’Homme, mais aussi de tous les êtres vivants de la planète. Un système mondial qui est en danger, au même titre que la biodiversité.
Manfred Nowak, Secrétaire général du Global Campus of Human Rights : “Rassembler des personnes dans les Cosmocafés du monde va générer un nouveau mouvement. C’est dans la rencontre, dans le dialogue que réside la possibilité d’une création nouvelle. L’art n’est pas seulement un produit pour Koen Vanmechelen, c’est aussi un processus qui répand un message en se développant. L’art est comme un virus.” Des tables rondes d’acteurs locaux et globaux sont encore organisées partout dans le monde, réunissant des hommes et des femmes de diverses disciplines. Koen Vanmechelen : “Mes années de travail sur les droits des enfants et de la nature m’ont appris que faire le lien entre les gens est d’une importance vitale. La philosophie qui sous-tend mon travail, son fil conducteur est l’axiome selon lequel tout organisme a besoin d’un autre organisme pour survivre.”

UN PAVILLON DES DROITS DE L’HOMME
Le projet est lancé pendant l’exposition GLASSTRESS à Venise, puis effectue une tournée mondiale. Il y a des Cosmocafés et des dialogues SoTO en projet au Mexique, au Chili, en Finlande, à l’assemble de l’ONU à Genève et à LABIOMISTA, le port d’attache de l’artiste. “Plusieurs partenaires sont invités à contribuer à la fois à la recherche artistique et au développement de l'œuvre d'art, visant à intégrer autant de disciplines, perspectives et cultures dans la création que possible ”, dit encore Koen Vanmechelen.

Toutes les contributions seront rassemblées dans un OPUS général fin 2020. Cet ouvrage sera remis au Haut-Commissaire des Nations Unies pour les Droits de l'Homme, au président de la Commission européenne et au commissaire de la 59e Biennale de Venise. Il ira de pair avec un appel à créer un Pavillon supranational des Droits de L'Homme qui aura sa place chaque année à la Biennale de Venise.

Plus d’informations sur
www.humanrightspavilion.com